Subscribe for 33¢ / day

BLOOMINGTON — Less than an hour into petition filing, McLean County Board got its first contested race for 2018.

District 2 Republican Jim Soeldner filed first thing Monday morning, and Democratic challenger Dave Siebert followed shortly after, setting up a Nov. 6 general election showdown for the sprawling rural district that includes Arrowsmith, Bellflower, Downs, Ellsworth, Heyworth, LeRoy and Saybrook.

Soeldner, of Ellsworth, is the board's vice chairman and has served two terms. Siebert, of Saybrook, is a first-time candidate and retired project manager at the Clinton nuclear plant.

Nomination filing for the March 20 primary started with several unopposed local filings. Those included:

• Nikita Richards, a Democratic candidate for McLean County Clerk

• McLean County Sheriff Jon Sandage, a Republican

• District 1 county board candidate Jeremiah Houston, a Republican

• District 4 county board candidate Logan Smith, a Democrat

• District 5 county board member David Selzer, a Republican

• District 6 county board member Laurie Wollrab, a Democrat

• District 7 county board member Ryan Scritchlow, a Republican

• District 8 county board member Paul Segobiano, a Democrat

• District 10 county board member Chuck Erickson, a Republican

McLean County Clerk Kathy Michael, a Republican, plans to run for re-election against Richards.

District 1 county board member Don Cavallini, a Republican, has said he won't seek re-election.

District 4 county board member Mark Johnson, a Republican, has not announced if he will seek re-election.

District 9 county board member Erik Rankin, a Democrat, has said he won't seek re-election. Libertarian Richard Bennett plans to run for Rankin's seat.

State-level filings Monday morning included:

• State Sen. Bill Brady, a Bloomington Republican

• State Rep. Dan Brady, a Bloomington Republican

• State Rep. Keith Sommer, a Morton Republican

• Jill Blair, a Bloomington Democrat seeking Sommer's seat

• David Paul Blumenshine, a Normal Republican seeking Dan Brady's seat

Bill Brady and Dan Brady are not related.

Benjamin Webb of Normal has said he'll file for the Democratic nomination for Dan Brady's seat.

Bloomington Libertarian Chris Howick has said he'll run for Sommer's seat.

Three Republicans and a Democrat, none local, have said they'll run for the seat of State Rep. Bill Mitchell of Forsyth, who will retire from the legislature.

Federal-level filings Monday included U.S. Rep. Rodney Davis, a Taylorville Republican, and three Democratic challengers: Erik Jones of Edwardsville, Betsy Londrigan of Springfield and Jon Ebel of Urbana.

U.S. Rep. Darin LaHood, a Dunlap Republican, also filed, as did Democratic challenger Brian Deters of Morton and Republican challenger Don Rients of Benson. Democrat Junius Rodriguez of Eureka also plans to run for the seat.

Filers for Illinois governor included Republican incumbent Bruce Rauner with running mate Evelyn Sanguinetti and three Democrats: Daniel Biss with Litesa Wallace, Chris Kennedy with Ra Joy and J.B. Pritzker with Juliana Stratton.

Attorney general filers were Republican Erika Harold and five Democrats: Scott Drury, Renato Mariotti, former Gov. Pat Quinn, Kwame Raoul and Nancy Rotering. Incumbent Lisa Madigan, a Democrat, said she won't seek re-election.

The filing period ends Dec. 4.

Follow Derek Beigh on Twitter: @pg_beigh



Reporter for The Pantagraph.

Load comments