CLINTON — Redistricting has brought new candidates to races for DeWitt County Board, with seats contested in each of four districts.

Voters will choose three members from each district on the Nov. 6 ballot.

District A: Democrat Leah Camille Redman, Wapella; and Republicans Sherrie D Brown, Larry E. Schumm and Dan Ballenger, all of Clinton. Redman and Brown previously served in District C.

District B: Democrat Dana Evans, Farmer City, incumbent; Republicans Mark J. Gardner, Farmer City; Ed Young, Farmer City, incumbent; and Terry Ferguson, Clinton, who served in District A.

District C: Democrats Michael C. Bray of Clinton, incumbent Russell Davenport of Clinton, and Scott L. Nimmo, Clinton, who served in District A; and Republicans Terry K. Hoffman of Maroa and Ron Savage Jr. and David Newberg, both of Clinton.

District D: Democrat Rita Sue May, Clinton; and Republicans Jay Wickenhauser, Pete Daugherty and Melonie Tilley, all incumbents who live in Clinton.

Countywide candidates face no opposition.

Republican Pam Barnes, Clinton, is unopposed for circuit clerk. She has 13 years’ experience in the court system and has lived in DeWitt County for almost 30 years.

Barnes has a bachelors’ degree in administration of justice from Southern Illinois University, Carbondale. She and her husband, Jeff, have two grown children.

Republican Karle Koritz, Clinton, is unopposed for state’s attorney, and would replace his father, Richard Koritz.

Koritz has been an assistant state’s attorney in McLean County since 2007 and previously was in private practice in Peoria. He and his wife Katy have three children.

Republican Randall J. Rice, Clinton, is unopposed for coroner. He would replace Alex Calvert, for whom he has been chief deputy coroner.

Republican Judge Thomas E. Griffith of Decatur is unopposed for the vacancy in the 6th Circuit, where he has been a judge since 2011.

He previously was Macon County assistant state’s attorney and was in private practice.

He has a bachelor’s degree from Millikin University and his juris doctorate from the University of Tulsa.

Coming Monday: Ford County


Load comments