Illinois Wesleyan's Rose named CCIW Coach of the Year

2014-02-25T15:42:00Z Illinois Wesleyan's Rose named CCIW Coach of the YearRandy Reinhardt rreinhardt@pantagraph.com pantagraph.com

BLOOMINGTON — Illinois Wesleyan basketball coach Ron Rose was rewarded Tuesday for leading his team to a second consecutive outright College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin championship by being named CCIW Coach of the Year.

Rose's Titans are ranked fourth nationally and sport a 22-3 overall record and a 12-2 league mark. Wesleyan is the No. 1 seed for the CCIW Tournament, which begins Friday at Shirk Center.

"It's probably more appropriately named Staff of the Year and most appropriately named Team of the Year," Rose said of his second straight award. "Everything we've accomplished is a group effort.

"I can't begin to express how fortunate I am to coach with the talented coaches I'm on staff with. Dave Feeney, Quincy Henderson, Lucas Lopez and Kelly Winter are as good as they come. I'm very appreciative of all their efforts."

IWU placed senior forwards Victor Davis and Andrew Ziemnik on the first team of the CCIW all-star squad. Junior guard Dylan Overstreet was a second team pick.

Ziemnik received his second straight first team nod. He was 11th in conference scoring (11.9) and eighth in rebounding (5.8).

"Andrew has provided that toughness, that will," said Rose. "Everything you can do on the floor that shows up in the boxscore and doesn't show up in the boxscore, Andrew does to help your team win."

A third team pick as a junior, Davis ranked 12th in scoring (11.8), fourth in rebounding (7.1), ninth in field goal percentage (.496) and sixth in free throw percentage (.833).

"Victor has had a fantastic senior year. I think he's elevated his game in every area," Rose said. "I've been most pleased with the consistency in which he's done it. He's played with such great confidence."

Overstreet was a first team pick a season ago. He led the CCIW in assists (4.1), was second in assist-turnover ratio (1.45), sixth in field goal percentage (.516) and 18th in scoring (10.1).

"Dylan has really cranked it up the last few weeks. He's playing spectacular basketball right now," said Rose. "He's the quarterback of our team. We led the league in scoring and field goal percentage. A lot of that has to do with Dylan's leadership on the floor."

Joining Davis and Ziemnik on the all-senior first team were Fred Young Most Outstanding Player Tyler Peters of Wheaton, North Central's Landon Gamble and Carthage's Malcom Kelly.

Also on the second team were Augustana's Hunter Hill, North Central's Vince Kmiec, Marlon Senior of Carthage and Wheaton's Brayden Teuscher.

Wheaton's Nate Haynes, a Normal Community High School product, was part of the third team as was Freshman of the Year Juwan Henry of North Park.

Copyright 2015 pantagraph.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

activate-button-3 FULL ACCESS

Latest Local Offers

More Offers
Get weekly ads via e-mail
Sign up to get weekly email newsletters

Saturday Mornings

Sunday Mornings

Follow The Pantagraph

Featured Businesses

More Businesses