NORMAL — The 2017 Illinois State Athletics Percy Family Hall of Fame class was officially announced Monday, with 1967 ISU graduate and longtime college basketball coach Steve Fisher selected to receive the inaugural Institutional Great Award.

Fisher won the NCAA championship as head coach of Michigan in 1989 and recently retired as head coach at San Diego State. The Institutional Great Award recognizes an ISU alumnus who has achieved significant personal and professional accomplishments at the professional or college levels.

Members of the Hall of Fame class include Kara Nelson Wiesmeyer (softball), a two-time Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year and All-American; Aisha Praught Leer (cross country /track and field), an NCAA All-American and 2016 Olympian; and Samantha Richdale (golf), a three-time MVC individual medalist.

Also to be inducted are Darrell Smith (tennis), a four-year letterman at No. 1 singles/doubles and top-5 in career singles wins; and Kim Sucher Becker (volleyball/softball/basketball), a three-sport standout who helped ISU teams to state and regional championships.

The honorees will be inducted during the Hall of Fame banquet at 8 a.m. Oct. 21 at ISU's Bone Student Center. The class also will be recognized during the homecoming parade and at halftime of the ISU-South Dakota football game, which kicks off at 2 p.m.

Reservations for the Hall of Fame ceremony are $25 per person and can be purchased through the ISU Athletics Department. To order tickets or for more information, contact Beth Harding at 309-438-3636.