NORMAL — Sophomore running back James Robinson and senior defensive tackle Dalton Keene have been voted as the Illinois State football team's Carter Harris Award recipients as the top offensive and defensive player, respectively.

The honor is named after a former ISU employee and avid football fan, with the annual winners recognized on a plaque hanging in the Kaufman Football Building.

Keene, who finished third in the Missouri Valley Football Conference Defensive Player of the Year voting, led all defensive linemen and ranked second in the MVFC overall with eight sacks.

He also tied for third in the MVFC with 13 tackles for loss and finished the season with 45 tackles, six pass breakups and eight quarterback hurries. He earned all-MVFC First-Team honors.

Also an all-MVFC First-Team selection, Robinson was second in the MVFC and No. 11 in the FCS in rushing touchdowns (12) and third in the MVFC in yards (933). He averaged 5.7 yards per carry, second-best in MVFC.

The Special Teams Player of the Year Award went to junior team captain and linebacker Brannon Barry. Barry saw action in all 11 games and ranked second on the team with 58 total tackles. He had five tackles for loss, three pass breakups, two quarterback hurries and a forced fumble.

Senior defensive tackle Matt McCown was honored with the Fred Cleland Award, given to a player who showed inspiration and strength throughout the season. McCown began his career as a walk-on and fought through several injuries to become a starter, recording 24 tackles and 4.5 tackles for loss in his final season.

Rounding out the honorees were Scout Team Players of the Year Weslye Brown (offense), Zeke Vandenburgh (defense) and Connor Janes (special teams).


Load comments