Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Heyworth junior Colin McCubbins shoots during the Class 2A Country Financial Three-Point Showdown on Friday, March 9, 2018 at Carver Arena in Peoria. McCubbins hit 10 3-pointers to take first place.


PEORIA — Heyworth High School junior Colin McCubbins sank his first six shots and won the Class 2A COUNTRY Financial Three-Point Showdown finals Friday night at Carver Arena.

McCubbins finished with 10 baskets to defeat Billy Sambano of Niles Northridge Prep (7), Demarcus Williams of Chicago Collins (6) and GCMS senior Mitch McNutt (4). Each contestant had 15 total attempts from three different racks.

The victory advanced McCubbins to the King of the Hill competition on March 17 at 12:45 p.m. at Carver Arena. He will be joined by Class 1A champion Clinton Richardson of Norris City-Omaha-Enfield and the Class 3A and 4A winners next Friday.

Donaldson on IBCA first-team: Ridgeview senior Jacob Donaldson was named to the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association's Class 1A/2A all-state first team Friday.

Donaldson, a 6-foot-3 senior forward, was the only area representative among the 15 first-team selections. The second team included Central Catholic senior forward Jack

Gilmore, Deer Creek-Mackinaw junior Levi Scheuermann and GCMS junior Bryce Barnes.

The third team included the Saints' James Morris and Austyn Ellison, the Mustangs' Justin Myers and the Chiefs' Neal Scheuermann, while Heyworth's Tate Eller and Ryland

Holt of GCMS made the fourth team. Central's Luke Yoder and Flanagan-Cornell's Jeremy Durdan received special mention.


Sports Writer

Sports Writer for The Pantagraph.

Load comments