Subscribe for 33¢ / day

The Fisher High School basketball team won the GCMS Thanksgiving Tournament after posting two victories at Gibson City on Saturday to finish 4-0.

All-tournament picks Jaden Jones-Watkins and Ryan Meents scored 23 and 12 points, respectively, for Fisher in a 56-53 win over LeRoy.

LeRoy, which trailed 28-27 at halftime, received 17 points from Nick Perry and 14 from Nate Sammer.

Fisher 63, Iroquois West 50: Kade Thomas scored 19 points while Jones-Watkins had 15 in Fisher's win over Iroquois West. Meents added 11 points and eight rebounds for the victors, who took a 48-38 lead into the fourth quarter.

LeRoy 67, Prairie Central 62: All-tournament pick Will Dooley had 14 points for the Panthers, who claimed second in the tourney. Junior Payne Mayfield also had 14 points with all-tourney selection Nick Perry adding 13. Prairie Central received 17 points from Eddie Shumaker, who also nabbed all-tournament recognition.

GCMS 69, Tri-Point 56: Ryland Holt scored 20 points, including 6-of-6 free throw shooting down the stretch, as GCMS pulled away in the fourth quarter. All-tourney pick Connor Birky added 15 for GCMS.

Ridgeview 67, Momence 56: Jacob Donaldson scored 34 points and grabbed 10 rebounds to lead Ridgeview to the championship of the Route 17 Classic at South Streator. Justin Myers added 22 points, six rebounds and four steals for the Mustangs (4-0).

Levi Zimmerman contributed eight assists for Ridgeview, which was represented by Donaldson and Alex Tongate on the all-tournament team.

Flanagan-Cornell 66, Grant Park 60: Jeremy Durdan's 27 points powered Flanagan-Cornell to the win in the third-place game of the Route 17 Classic at South Streator.

Karson Kimpling added 14 points and Andrew Kozak 13 for the Falcons, who trailed 31-24 at the half. Durdan was named to the all-tournament team.

Clinton 56, Windsor/Stew-Stras 38: Austin Rauch scored 14 points and Dalton Smith 13 for Clinton (4-0) in the championship game of the Cerro Gordo Turkey Tournament.

Windsor/Stew-Stras (3-1) received 15 points from Christian Kessler.

Paw Paw 91, Dwight 80 OT: Dakota Wahl scored 25 points, but it wasn't enough as Dwight (0-4) lost to Paw Paw in the Route 17 Classic at South Streator. Morgan Fritz and Dane Rodosky added 13 points each for the Trojans, who also got 12 points apiece from Colton Holm and Cal Schultz.

Brandon Heiman had 24 points for Paw Paw, which won the overtime period, 11-0.

Danville 43, Lincoln 35: Isaiah Bowers scored 14 points in a losing cause for Lincoln, which committed 18 turnovers while forcing eight in the Eaton Corporation Tournament at Lincoln. Kendle Moore scored 18 points for Danville, which outscored the Railsplitters, 21-13, the second half.

Lincoln 52, Limestone 39: Bowers had 19 points to lead the host Railers to the win in their second game of the day. Isaac Dewberry chipped in eight points.

Tremont 55, Brimfield 43: Logan Pflederer scored 17 points and Tim Rice 16 for Tremont in a win over Brimfield at the Brimfield Tournament. Reece Teubel led Brimfield with 15 points.

Roanoke-Benson 49, El Paso-Gridley 47 OT: Roanoke-Benson's Jake Weber sank a pair of free throws with three seconds remaining in overtime to give the Rockets the win and a share of the El Paso-Gridley Tournament title.

Weber had 14 points for the Rockets, who saw Trent Weldon can a 3-pointer with three seconds left in regulation to send the game into overtime. EPG's Jack Weber had a game-high 15 points. Roanoke-Benson, EPG and Olympia each finished at 2-1, with EPG awarded the tournament trophy on the basis of fewest points allowed.

Olympia 50, Hartsburg-Emden 44: Olympia erased a 41-31 deficit with three minutes remaining to down Hartsburg-Emden in the El Paso-Gridley Tournament. Isaac Riegler led the Spartans with 18 points while Trey Wilson added 13.

Zach Phillips paced Hartem with 13 points. Brody Baker and Wyatt Hopkins chipped in 12 apiece.

Dee-Mack 46, Peoria Quest 42: Noah Scheuermann scored eight of his team-high 16 points in the fourth quarter as Deer Creek-Mackinaw rallied past Peoria Quest to win the title of the Peoria Heights Tournament.

Levi Scheuermann added 13 points for the Chiefs, who outscored Quest 18-8 in the fourth quarter. Dawson Jones chipped in 10 points and joined Levi Scheuermann on the all-tournament team.

Yorkville 61, Pontiac 38: Ben Schuler scored eight points to lead Pontiac during a loss to Yorkville in the Dean Riley Tournament at Ottawa. Christian Payne scored 14 points for Yorkville, which led at halftime, 29-17.


NCHS 74, Champaign Central 53: Normal Community (6-2) placed third in the Morton Invitational with help from a victory over Champaign Central. Summer Stoewer led the Iron with 18 points and eight rebounds while Maya Wong chipped in 16 points and six assists.

Chanice Wilson led Champaign with 17 points.

NCHS 62, St. Thomas More 19: Kylee Schneringer scored 13 points to lead NCHS past St. Thomas More. The Iron shot 57 percent from the field and had 18 assists on their 24 field goals.

Wong had seven assists, three steals and three rebounds. NaKaya Hughes led St. Thomas More with six points.

Calvary Christian 45, Decatur Christian 20: Calvary Christian (5-2) won its own tournament by winning three games on Saturday. The Knights opened with a win over Decatur Christian that featured 19 points from Mackenzie Sturgill, 13 from Jacy Wingate and 11 from Rebecca Orns.

Sturgill and Orns each had 10 rebounds. Wingate and Orns were named to the all-tournament team.

Calvary Christian 43, O'Fallon Christian 30: Wingate's 22 points and Orns' 18 keyed Calvary Christan. Orns grabbed seven rebounds.

Calvary Christian 31, Peoria Heights 29: Wingate scored 15 points and Orns 10 for the victors. Orns also had 10 rebounds.


BHS 6th at Contant: Led by champions Savion Haywood and Ryan Gardner, Bloomington scored 134 points to place sixth in the 18-team Conant Invitational. Glenbard North won with 218.5 points.

In the final at 138 pounds, Haywood defeated Sandburg's Patrick Nolan, 7-4. Gardner topped Oswego's Sam Sarvia by technical fall in 4:00 in the title bout at 126.

Other BHS placers were Josiah Heinz (3rd at 195), Ben Wright (5th at 220), Fabian Ortega (6th at 113), Holden Snyder (6th at 145), Jon McCullough (6th at 160), Jayvon Jamison (7th at 132) and Chanse Ridgeway (8th at 152).

Prairie Central 6th: Prairie Central scored 106 points to finish sixth in the 11-team Illini Bluffs Invitational at Glasford. Galesburg won with 165.5.

Prairie Central was led by Abby Bergstralh (2nd at 106), Josh Woodrey (2nd at 220), Luke Evans (3rd at 170) and Marcus Jackson (3rd at 126). Other Hawk placers were Braiden Travis (4th at 106), Will Tatro (4th at 138) and Tristan Garland (4th at 160).



Reporter for Lee Enterprises Central Illinois.

Load comments