El Paso-Gridley High School junior guard Rebekah Ehresman and Mount Pulaski senior guard Jessica Awe were second-team selections on the Associated Press Class 1A and 2A girls all-state basketball teams released Wednesday.

The 5-foot-8 Ehresman was honored in Class 2A. She leads the Titans into the 2A state semifinals at 8:15 p.m. Friday against top-ranked Champaign St. Thomas More.

The 5-3 Awe was chosen in Class 1A by a statewide panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Mount Pulaski plays in the 1A state semifinals at 2 p.m. Friday against Cowden-Herrick.

Area players earning honorable mention were Mount Pulaski senior Andrea Dickerson and Tri-Point senior Taylor Roach in 1A.

First-team selections in 1A were Taylor McClintock of Illini Bluffs, Celina VanHyfte of Annawan, Sophie Brunner of Freeport Aquin, Micah Jones of Cowden-Herrick and Allison Webb of Goreville.

In 2A, the first team consisted of unanimous selection Tyra Buss of Mount Carmel, Paige Rakers of Carlyle, Sophie Reecher of Byron and the St. Thomas More duo of junior Randa Harshbarger and 6-4 freshman Tori McCoy.

More from pantagraph.com

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.