Prairie Central
wrestlers win
Hawk Classic

Championship match victories by Garrett Johnson, Simon Schuler, Drew Hoselton and Cade Kerns carried the Prairie Central High School wrestling team to victory the 32nd Annual Hawk Classic on Saturday at Fairbury.

Hoselton, the tournament's "outstanding wrestler" in the upper weights, pinned Tolono Unity's Athur Robbie Schmidt to win the 160-pound bracket. Johnson pinned Clifton Central's Thomas Konetski at 126, Schuler earned a decision over El Paso-Gridley's Kaleb Featherly at 145 and Kerns notched an overtime win against Tolono's Toby Traxler at 195.

The Hawks totaled 220.5 points in the 15-team event to finish ahead of Clifton (176) and EPG (160). The Titans' Jamie Gregory defeated Kankakee McNamara's Caleb Magruder for the championship at 106. Other area champions were Lincoln's Trevor Bee (120) and Dwight's Cade Enerson.

Haywood wins for BHS: Bloomington's Savion Haywood took first at 132 and Pontiac's Jake Lanning topped the field at 170 in the 26-team Sycamore Invitational. BHS, which finished 11th, also got a runner-up at 285 from John Ridgeway while 10th-place Mahomet-Seymour received a second from Hunter Crowley at 195.

Hufeld leads West: Normal West's Skyler Hufeld pinned Collin Turley of Vernon Hills to win the 220-pound bracket in the Leyden Eagle Invitational at Franklin Park. The Wildcats, who placed seventh out of 16 teams, also got third-place wins from Ahmad Qahwaji (170) and Zane Davis (182).

Streator third at Morton: T.J. Moran (132) and Kyle Guenard (195) won their championship matches to help Streator finish in third place at the Morton Invitational. Moran earned a 16-2 major decision over Taylorville's Brad Bruner and Guenard notched an 8-3 win over Morton's Zach Coffman.

The Bulldogs also received second places from Michael Dunkleberger (138), Jayson Goblin (220) and Isiah Dukes (285).


NCHS third at own invite: Andrew Woith finished second in both the 200-yard freestyle (1:49.35) and the 100 backstroke (57.80) to help host Normal Community (272 points) finish in third place at the eight-team Iron Invite. 

Normal West took sixth with Zach Mitchell posting a fourth-place finish in the 500 freestyle. Seventh-place Metamora had Jack McCormick win the 50 freestyle (22.37) while the 400 freestyle relay of McCormick, Justin Alderson, Jon Hasty and Noah Nelson also won (3:23.27).

U High second: Colton Stogner's wins in the 50 freestyle (21.95) and the 100 freestyle (46.88) joined Harrison Fudge's top honors in the 100 breaststroke (1:00.44) to boost University High (364) to second place in the 12-team Charger Invite at Champaign.

Bloomington's Reid Byers won the 100 backstoke (53.63) as the Raiders finished in sixth-place. Mahomet-Seymour was eleventh.


Varney leads BHS: Megan Varney had the third-best six-game score of 1,054 to lead Bloomington to fifth in the 30th annual Taylorville Invitational. Varney also had the team's high game of 205 and high three-game series of 573. The Purple Raiders' Erin Francisco contributed a 982 total, with a high game of 189 and a high series of 495.

Pantagraph staff


Load comments