Try 1 month for $5

EUREKA—Candidates in all three Woodford County Board districts will face unexpected competition in the Nov. 6 general election. Board elections are often decided in the spring primary before the general one in November because all candidates are usually running on the Republican ticket. However, despite several contests that were decided in the spring primary, there will be more contested races next Tuesday. Here's a peek:

District 1

Justin Faulk of Minonk and John Krug of El Paso, both Republicans, will run unopposed for four-year terms on the board. Krug is an incumbent, while Faulk is a newcomer. There will be a second contest for a third seat between Republican Emily Barker and Democrat Olaya Landa-Vialard to fill the unexpired two-year term left when former board member John Delaney resigned late this past summer. Because of the timing of Delaney’s resignation, each political party was able to nominate a candidate late in the process, resulting in the contest

For the purposes of the Woodford County Board election, District 1 includes the townships of Minonk, Roanoke, Linn, Clayton, Cazenovia, Greene, Panola, El Paso, Palestine, and Kansas

District 2

Primary winners Barry Logan, Metamora, Charles Nagle, Germantown Hills and Josh Davis, East Peoria, all Republicans, will vie for three open seats on the board with Democrat Cathryne Kaufman. Kaufman did not run in the primary, but was able to file under the election rule of Democrats failing to nominate candidates in the Primary election. Under Illinois election law, if no candidates are nominated on an established party ticket in the primary, candidates of that party may petition to run in the fall election as a member of the established party

Logan is the only incumbent in the group. For purposes of the county board election, District 2 includes Partridge, Worth and Spring Bay Townships

District 3

Primary winners Blake Parsons of Congerville and Jason Spence of Eureka, both Republicans, will face Democrat Robin Fosdyck and Independent Ross Clymer for two open seats. Fosdyck also did not run in the primary, but was able to qualify to run under the election rule of Democrats failing to nominate candidates in the Primary election. Clymer filed as an Independent candidate during the summer. Under state law, Independent candidates are those individuals who are not candidates of any political party, but who are candidates in a general election. Such candidates are listed on the ballot under the heading “Independent.” Parsons is the only incumbent in the group

Townships in District 3 include Metamora, Cruger, Olio and Montgomery

County offices

Republican Dawn Kupfer is running unopposed for Woodford County Clerk and Recorder. She will replace long-time clerk Debbie Harms who is retiring at the end of her term in December. Also running unopposed for offices are Republicans Matt Smith (Sheriff) and Melissa Andrews (treasurer)

U.S. Congress

Republican incumbent Darin LaHood of Peoria is seeking re-election as Representative in the U.S. Congress and will face Democrat Junius Rodriguez of Eureka for the seat

Other contests

Several state offices are on the ballot including Governor, Attorney General, Secretary of State, Comptroller and Treasurer. State Senator Jason Barickman, State Representatives Ryan Spain and Tom Bennett, all Republicans and incumbents, are running unopposed for re-election in local districts. The ballot also includes judges running for the appellate court and seeking retention on the circuit court


Fieldcrest School District No. 6 is asking voters to approve a proposition to issue $29 million in building bonds to build and equip a school structure in Wenona, demolish a portion of the existing middle school building, build and equip a high school structure in Minonk, demolish the existing high school building and improve school sites. A yes vote would give approval for the issuance of bonds while a no vote would not allow it

Goodfield is asking voters if the prohibition of the sale of alcohol should continue. A yes vote will keep the town dry while a no vote will allow liquor sales


Polls will be open at designated voting precincts from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day, Nov. 6. Early voting has also been in progress with reports that it has been heavier than usual. Early voting allows all registered voters to cast their ballots prior to Nov. 6 by voting at the Woodford County Courthouse, 115 N. Main St., Room 104 in Eureka. Early voting will be available at the following dates and times: Thursday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturday, 8 a.m. from noon and Monday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Load comments