Duo advances: A total of 13 individuals cleared six feet two inches in the high jump during Thursday's one A preliminaries at O'Brien Stadium on the Eastern Illinois University campus in Charleston. Those 13 include Logan Gastman and Trent Weldon of the Lowpoint-Washburn/Roanoke-Benson co-op.

Relays, individuals move on: Eureka's four by four of Eli Steinbeck, Aden Sears, Connor Standish and Micah Senior turned in the fastest time from Friday's two A prelims at O'Brien. They won their heat in three minutes 20 point six seconds to better Rantoul (3:21.8). Also the four by eight of Steinbeck, Jack Cook, Brayden Beck and Standish qualified along with first-year Trevor Heffren, who was one of nine to go 6-3 in the high jump, and Sears in the 400.

One champ, one record, five medals: At Saturday's finals, Trevor Heffren won the high jump at 6-9, an inch better than Freeburg's Zack Pluff. Heffren's mark is just off the program record of 6-10, which is co-shared by Harrison Hearne (1980) and Doug Dossey ('90). The four by four of Job Knapp, Aden Sears, Connor Standish and Micah Senior ran a program-best 3:18.52, which was second to East St. Louis Sr. (3:18.13). Other medalists included: Trent Weldon (fourth, high jump), Sears (seventh, 400) and four by eight (Eli Steinbeck, Jack Cook, Brayden Beck and Standish, eighth).


You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Large group honored in the HOIC: A total of 11 individuals earned distinction in the Heart of Illinois Conference. Four Eureka players made the first team, which included repeat pick Daniel Frank, unanimous choices Austin Davis and Brady Krile, plus sophomore Matt Martin. Named to the second squad were the Eureka duo of Aaron Schwab and Keegan Zimmerman along with Fieldcrest's Derek May, Ryan Naas and sophomores Koy Allen and Bryce Nordstrom. Another Fieldcrest sophomore, Landon Cook, was selected honorable mention.


Eight lauded by league: Eureka's Morgan Greene and Alaina Tjaden of Fieldcrest were unanimous choices to the first team by the HOIC. Others recognized included: Fieldcrest's Jacie Sullivan (second squad), Alivia Tjaden of Fieldcrest (second), Eureka's Hannah Martin (sophomore, honorable mention), Jayci Swords of Eureka (sophomore, honorable mention), Fieldcrest's Addie Goodrich (honorable mention) and Kaya Buchanan of Fieldcrest (first year, honorable mention).


A trio of Eureka individuals will participate in the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association all-star games June 8 at Pontiac. Jerry Prina will coach the small school girls’ South squad, which includes Courtney Heffren. Keegan Zimmerman of Eureka will also suit up for the South for the boys. The games are for seniors only. The girls' contest tips off at noon, while the boys' game is set for 4 p.m.

Be the first to know - Sign up for News Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments