COMING UP ON ONE - Luke Wells of Eureka (left) and El Paso-Gridley's Noah Smith (right) approach an obstacle in the 300 hurdles at the Roger Washburn Invitational on Friday. Wells won the race to help the hosts to the team title (For the Journal/Robyn Wiegand). 


Fieldcrest 15, El Paso-Gridley 0 (5): Three hits and three runs batted in from Derek May piloted the Knights (10-5, 6-3) in Heart of Illinois Conference action on Wednesday. The game was stopped after five innings due to the 10-run rule.

Eureka 1, Tremont 2 (10): Briggs Carlson collected two hits for the Hornets (18-6, 8-2), who saw the league hosts score the winning run with two outs in the bottom of the 10th on Wednesday.

Ottawa Marquette 7, Roanoke-Benson/Lowpoint-Washburn 5: Jarrett Bline picked up two hits for the Rockets (8-12, 4-5) in Thursday's Tri-County Conference assignment.

Fieldcrest 12, Fisher 0 (5): Michael Morse's two hits led the Knights in HOIC action on Friday. The 10-run rule came into effect after five.

Eureka 6, Le Roy 1: Matt Martin rapped out three hits for the Hornets in a league game on Friday.

RBLW 5, Deer Creek-Mackinaw 10 (5): Jarrett Bline drove in three runs during Saturday's road assignment. The contest was called after five because of rain.


Fieldcrest 2, EP-G 1: A pair of hits from Ella Goodrich guided the HOIC visiting Knights (10-7, 6-2) Wednesday afternoon.

Fieldcrest 2, Fisher 1: Alivia Tjaden weaved a three-hitter for the league guests. A scheduling conflict moved the game from Friday to Thursday.

Eureka 0, Le Roy 4: Morgan Greene had half of the six hits for the Hornets (8-11, 2-7) Friday in HOIC competition.


Co-op wins: Lucy Unzicker took the 1600 and 3200 to power LWRB to the team title at Thursday's Ridgeview Invitational at Colfax. Ellen Hood of Fieldcrest was first in the 400.

Eureka goes two for two: The host Hornets swept Friday's Roger Washburn Invite. Elijah Skutt won the high and triple jumps, while Tessa Wiegand captured the 800.


Duo share honor: Matt Winkler of Fieldcrest and El Paso-Gridley's Nathaniel Meiss were deemed co-winners by the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association for District 12. Each guided his team to a 22-10 record and a regional championship this past season.


Load comments