Try 1 month for 99¢

The After Hours quartet

BLOOMINGTON — A gold medal won by the After Hours quartet has given Bloomington its first Barbershop Harmony Society champion in its 76-year history.

Members of the quartet, formed at Bradley University, joined Bloomington’s Sound of Illinois (SOI) chapter in 2009. They won the Illinois District championship in 2010. Tenor Tim Beutel, a Tremont resident who teaches choral music in Morton schools, is SOI’s associate director.

The award was announced Saturday at the international competition in Orlando, Fla.

Other members of the quartet are: Drew Ochoa, Orlando, Fla., lead; Bryan Ziegler, Greendale, Wis, baritone; and  Dan Wessler, Freeport, bass.

In chorus competition with 30 choruses, the Sound of Illinois Chorus placed 21st out of 30. It was a record 11th consecutive year Bloomington represented Illinois in international competition. 

Two other quartets with Bloomington members finished as quarterfinalists in the field of 50: South of Normal and The Committee.

South of Normal includes: Bret Reinthaler, a Bloomington member from Heyworth, base, and Bryan Reeder, Tim Woodall and Craig Ahlgrim. The Committee includes three Bloomington members: Matt Carlen, lead, Kevin McClelland, baritone, and Brett Mulford, bass. Tenor Mike Lietke is from Greendale, Wis.

A fourth Bloomington quartet, The Elite IV, was one of 20 quartets with young members that competed in the Next Generation Varsity contest: Grant Klobuchar, tenor, Evan Patrick, lead, Scott Cilento, baritone, and Alexio Pishos, bass. All are SOI members.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments