GIBSON CITY – The Gibson Area Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for its Outstanding Citizen of the Year, Outstanding Junior Citizen of the Year and Lifetime Achievement awards.

The outstanding citizen is awarded to a man, woman or group, who in the eyes of the committee has performed the greatest service to the community during 2015 or over a longer period. The citizen must also live in the Gibson City community.

Last year, Jake's Boys received the Outstanding Citizen of the Year award.

Other past recipients include Barb Horsch, Robin Rose, Shirley Jackson, Jeanine Litwiller, Michelle Rosenbaum, Randy Ferguson, Sharon Craig, Ann Spangler, Kim Fisher, Jill Arends, Roy Roemer, Ted Swanson, Jr., Music in the Park Committee and Jack Johnson, Gibson Area Hospital Auxiliary, Jim Hood, Doug Roesch, Bob Crossman, Bill Tubbs, Frank Stocker, Karen Kummerow, Steve Hester, Jim Hager, Frank Titus and Bill Nicholls and the Gibson City High School chorus and band members.

Past recipients also include Doris Benter, Somchai Supawanich, Delbert Riblet, Robert D. Knapp, Clyde Day, Gibson Beautification Foundation, John Summers, Frank Hunt III, Gibson City Lions Club, Loel Jordan, Gibson Community Hospital Board and Mrs. Teddy Eddelman.

Dr. Robert Rankin, David Kramer, Joe Hudson, Val Hunt, Henry Hager, Dr. Paul Sunderland, Charles Crowley, DeWayne Grafton, Ernest Brown, Gibson City Fire Department, Dr. E.C. Bucher, Mrs. W.T. Francis, the Rev. Jack Kaley, Orren Pierce, Frank Hunt Jr., Mrs. Loel Helmick, and Verle Kramer also received the award.

Nominations are also sought for the Junior Citizen of the Year award. To be nominated, a student must be a member of the current senior class; employed within the local business community; and demonstrate dependability, achievement potential, good attendance, good character and the ability to work with others.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Last year, the Junior Citizen of the Year award was presented to Erin Tabor.

Past recipients of the Junior Citizen of the Year award include Victoria Gaesser and Emily Young, Chet McClure and Katie Massey, Chelsey Lange, Elliott McClure, Joel Hood, Trevor Litwiller, Leah Livingston, Craig Sharp, Grant Kerber, Lucas Pulley, Josh Hawthorne, Adam Hood and Joshua Wurmnest, Ryan Brucker, Casey Pulley and Josh Garrett, Justin Hay, Jacob Farmer, Emily Pardick, Zach Summers, Stacey Gramley, Abby Wurmnest, Kathleen Lee and Amy Johnson, Jeff Benter and Jenna Thomas, Brad Everett and Shane Upton.

Additional past recipients are Stephanie Cummings, Amy Kruse, Mary Pool, Lance David, John Ferguson, Heath Grote and Mary Doden, Lisa Benter, Jana K. Leonard and Kelly Briggs, Mike Badger Jr., Janet Farmer, Vince Salyards, Todd Sommer, Jan Rhodes, Karl Cender, Marcia Stimmel, David Hood and Ellen Crowley, Ruth Broaddus, Kelley Allen and Mike Young.

The Lifetime Achievement award is presented to a man, woman or group, who in the eyes of the committee has performed the greatest service to the community over a number of years.

Selection will be made by an anonymous committee.

The announcement of winners will be made at the chamber’s annual banquet on March 10.

Nomination forms are available by emailing Susietongate@hotmail.com or online at http://www.gibsoncityillinois.com/chamber3/.

Be the first to know - Sign up for News Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments