BLOOMINGTON — Twenty Pantagraph-area high school seniors have received Outstanding Good Citizenship Awards from the Gen. Joseph Bartholomew chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution.

Receiving $1,000 scholarships were Cara Levingston of LeRoy High School and Jeremiah Poppen of Metamora Township High School. Levingston plans to attend Southern Illinois University Edwardsville to study civil engineering. Poppen plans to attend Saint Louis University to study biomedical engineering.

Certificates were awarded to David Dougall for supporting genealogic research for potential SAR members; John Frisch for continuous, stalwart support of the GJB SAR chapter and events; Lance McCormick as only active charter member and serving as treasurer; and Lois Bowen received a thank you plaque for 20 years of service as pianist for the scholarship event.

The presentation was April 11 at the Bloomington Country Club.

Student winners, listed alphabetically by school, with college and major, were:

David Calahan, Bloomington High School, University of Chicago, business and political science.

Matthew Ice, Calvary Christian Academy, Heartland Community College, nursing.

Christopher Russell, Central Catholic High School, undecided, mechanical engineering.

Nathaniel Phinney, Cornerstone Christian Academy, Taylor University, cyber security.

Ashlyn Stone, El Paso-Gridley High School, Olivet Nazarene University, nursing.

Spencer Nason, Eureka High School, Jacksonville University Florida, biochemistry.

Alaina Tjaden, Fieldcrest High School, Illinois Valley Community College, occupational therapy.

Ethan Campbell, Heyworth High School, Illinois State University, criminal justice.

Aubrey Lathrop, Lexington High School, Augustana College, communication/journalism.

Teagan Osborn, Lowpoint-Washburn High School, Illinois Central College, social work.

Ben Witzig, Normal Community High School, undecided, civil engineering.

Michael Eganhouse, Normal Community West High School, Heartland Community College, broadcasting.

Ethan Schopp, Olympia High School, Butler University, vocal music education.

Martin Kaeb, Prairie Central High School, Illinois State University, mathematics education.

Ryan Benton, Ridgeview High School, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, geography.

Ryland Thompson, Roanoke-Benson High School, Bradley University, manufacturing engineering.

Matthew Kovich, Tri-Valley High School, Southern Illinois University, aviation/professional flight.

Brody Kline, University High School, Rose Hulman Institute of Technology, mechanical engineering.


Load comments