Subscribe for 33¢ / day

BLOOMINGTON — The face of the McLean County Board will be changing with three more Democrats joining the otherwise overwhelmingly Republican body.

Newcomer Victoria Harris is leading the vote over incumbent Republican Bette Rackauskus in District 7 — 3,002 to 2,977 at press time. The other District 7 winner in the race was newcomer Richard Buchanan, a Republican.  

Newcomer Sally Pyne, the other new Democrat, also was beating incumbent Republican Ed McKibbin in District 4 by 3,185 votes to 2,282. District 4 candidate William T. Caisley had 3,541 votes and Steven Campbell had 2,105.

Two Bloomington precincts still had not been reported at press time. Two candidates will be elected in each district.  

In District 3, Diane Bostic, Normal, was slightly trailing Democratic newcomer Julie Brandt of McLean by a vote of 2,913 to 2,917.  George Wendt of Bloomington had 3,897.

In District 5, John McIntyre had 4,161 votes and Sondra “Sonny” O’Connor had 3,816. Both Republicans are incumbents. Democratic challenger Herb Reichelt logged 2,674.  All are from Normal.

In District 9, Republican incumbent Susan Schafer polled 3,135 votes and Democrat incumbent Erik Rankin received 2,931. Republican newcomer Mark W. Johnson had 2,430. All are from Bloomington.

District 10 Republican incumbent Benjamin Owens had 3,678 votes and Republican incumbent Chuck Erickson had 5,283. Democratic challenger Michael Harrison had 3,363. All are from Bloomington.

Eight others were re-elected without opposition: Republicans Stan Hoselton and Don Cavallini, both of Lexington, District 1; Republicans Matt Sorensen of Bloomington and Jim Soeldner of Ellsworth, District 2; Democrats Laurie Wollrab and George Gordon, both of Normal, District 6; and Democrats Paul Segobiano and Scott Black, both of Bloomington, District 8.

All County Board seats were up for election because the 2010 Census required some redistricting.  Successful candidates will take part in a lottery drawing to determine who will serve two-year terms and who will serve four-year terms so that only half of the board is up for re-election at one time.

Each district is represented by two board members.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments