Central Illinois residents listed as delegates in presidential primary

Central Illinois residents listed as delegates in presidential primary

  • 0

Following are delegates pledged to presidential candidates running in the March 17 primary. 


Several candidates for president will appear on the Democratic ballot this year, even though some of the names have already dropped out of the race.

Not all candidates that remain in the race have full delegate slates on the ballot, either. Should a candidate win a delegate but not have one on the ballot in that district, the party has a process for naming a delegate at a later time.

The Democratic presidential candidates appearing on the ballot are: Sen. Amy J. Klobuchar of Minnesota; former Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick; Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont; former Vice President Joseph R. Biden; former New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg; Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren; former South Bend, Ind., Mayor Pete Buttigieg; hedge fund manager Tom Steyer; entrepreneur Andrew Yang; Sen. Michael Bennet of Colorado; former U.S. Rep.  John K. Delaney of Maryland,; U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard of Hawaii; and Sen. Cory Booker of New Jersey.

Only Klobuchar, Sanders, Biden, Warren, Buttigieg and Yang field delegates in any of the state’s 18 Congressional districts, and only Biden, Sanders and Warren have delegates in all districts.

13th District: 2 males, 3 females

Klobuchar: Carol McClaine, Champaign; John Bergee, Champaign; Anne M. Heiles, Urbana; Carl Ernest Kasten, Carlinville

Sanders: Carol Ammons, Urbana; Jenn Carrillo, Bloomington; Pamella Gronemeyer, Glen Carbon; Allan M. Axelrod, Urbana; Brian Wilens, Champaign

Yang: Teresa Brennan, Urbana; Gabriela Romero, Champaign; Khaled Messai, Urbana

Warren: Michelle Paul, Springfield; Michael Frerichs, Champaign; Emma Todd, Springfield; Craig Colbrook, Springfield; Lisa M. Stanley, Decatur

Biden: Sue Scherer, Decatur; Chuck Napier, Litchfield; Ellen Schanzle-Haskins, Springfield; Mark Robert Maddock, Champaign; Ada Owens, Decatur

15th District: 1 male, 2 females

Sanders: Amanda Benefiel, Marshall; Germaine Light, Danville; Mitchell Esslinger, Strasburg

Warren: Cynthia E. Cunningham, St. Joseph; Samuel Reiss, Sidney; Rachel Smith-Bolton, Mahomet

Biden: Natalie Phelps Finnie, Elizabethtown; Patrick H. Scates, Carmi; Vivian Robinson, Harrisburg

16th District: 2 males, 2 females

Klobuchar: James K. Riley, Gardner; Angie Bodine, Poplar Grove; Carolyn Moore, La Salle; Charles Gentert, Lostant

Buttigieg: Timothy Bradley, Coal City; John Reis, Fairbury; Michael Soto, Franklin Grove

Sanders: Joan Garnier, DeKalb; Justine Trout, Loda; Art Bardsley, Loves Park; JJ Wett, DeKalb

Warren: Elizabeth Lindquist, Roscoe; John Gedney, Belvidere; Elaine Pannell, Rochelle Courtney “Court” Schuett, Waterman

Biden: Steve Stadelman, Caledonia; Wendy Lafauce, Belvidere; Ashwin Puri, Rockford; Amy Sipovic Boyles, Ottawa

Yang: Elsa Von Huben, Machesney Park; Edward Caputo, Rockford; Quinton Rosser, Minooka; Jason Rockford, Ottawa

18th District: 2 males, 2 females

Klobuchar: Kim Kelley, Morton; Ambra Haake, Groveland; Lawrence (Larry) Ruemmler, Quincy; Kathleen Clark Kimmel, Hopewell

Sanders: Erin C. Brown, Pekin; Kelsey Harms, Bloomington; Andrew Spiro, Springfield; Emiliano Vera, Bushnell

Yang: Jodi Brown, Manito; Laura Cordell, Peoria

Buttigieg: Patrick Cortesi, Bloomington; Jennifer Fray, Pittsfield

Biden: Billy Halstead, Peoria; Liz Brown-Reeves, Springfield; Jay Briney, Havana; Cherri A. Montgomery, Springfield

Warren: Bryen Johnson, Springfield; Jill Blair, Bloomington; Ben Isabel, Springfield; Radiance Campbell, Normal


While there are three candidates for president on the Republican primary ballot, only President Donald Trump will have delegates on the ballot this year.

The other presidential candidates are John Schiess of Rich Lake, Wisconsin, and Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente of San Diego, California.

13th District

Martin Davis, Taylorville; Susan Gant Reynolds, Mount Zion; Maria Vasquez, Urbana

15th District

Thomas "Chapin" Rose, Mahomet; Rhonda Belford, Rosiclare; Susan Petty, Effingham

16th District

John Cabello, Machesney Park; Jan Klaas, Cherry Valley

18th District

Darin LaHood, Peoria; Sally Bomke, Springfield; Kathryn Sparrow, West Point


Get Government & Politics updates in your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News