BLOOMINGTON — McLean County officials are looking for a Republican from the east side of the county to serve on its board for the next 18 months.

Applications will be accepted through noon July 3 to succeed District 2 member Scott Murphy, who's resigning as he moves out of the district from Downs to the Twin Cities, Board Chair John McIntyre announced Tuesday.

Applications should be submitted to the county administrator's office at 115 E. Washington St. Room 401, Bloomington, IL 61701. That office is available by email at admin@mcleancountyil.gov and by phone at (309) 888-5110.

Candidates will be interviewed by the board's executive committee July 9, with an appointment by the full board expected July 16. The appointee will serve until Murphy's term expires in December 2020.

District 2 includes south of Bloomington, Towanda, Downs, LeRoy and other areas to the east. It's also represented by Republican Jim Soeldner of Ellsworth, the board's vice chair.

McIntyre also will need to choose a new chair of the board's property committee, a position Murphy gained following last November's election.

"First of all we'll go through the appointment process and we'll have our new member. I usually use experience, obviously, as one criteria," said McIntyre of filling the committee position.  

Property Vice Chair Josh Barnett, like Murphy, joined the board in 2016.

McIntyre thanked Murphy for his service on the board after reading his letter of resignation aloud to end Tuesday's monthly meeting.

"While I will miss serving with the fantastic people who make up the board, the staff and the other elected officials, I have no doubt that the county will not miss a beat in my absence," Murphy wrote. "I have thoroughly enjoyed this job and I highly recommended it to those contemplating public service."

Murphy's resignation is the board's first in almost two years, since Rich Buchanan resigned a District 7 seat. Sonny O'Connor, Sorensen, Paul Finch and Ben Owens all resigned from the board from late 2015 into early 2016.

McIntyre noted Murphy's seat will be on the ballot not only in 2020 but in 2022, when the entire board is re-elected at large following the Census. Seats then resume cycling onto the ballot, one from each district every two years.

Coming soon: Get Government & Politics updates in your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Contact Derek Beigh at (309) 820-3234. Follow him on Twitter: @pg_beigh


Load comments