New aldermen

Newly sworn-in Bloomington City Council members posing for pictures May 1 at City Hall are, from left, Julie Emig, Ward 4; Jeff Crabill, Ward 8; Donna Boelen, Ward 2; and Jenn Carrillo, Ward 6.

BLOOMINGTON — Four newly elected Bloomington aldermen said Wednesday they will not challenge the city's 4-cent-per-gallon increase in the local motor fuel tax that went into effect on the same day they were sworn into office.

The four — Donna Boelen of Ward 2, Julie Emig of Ward 4, Jenn Carrillo of Ward 6 and Jeff Crabill of Ward 8 — took their oaths during a special City Council meeting at City Hall.

During quizzing by the media immediately afterward, the four agreed that the city needs to make sure the motor fuel tax money is being used to improve streets, an issue that was a hot topic in the April 2 consolidated election.

While Emig, Carrillo and Crabill said they favor revisiting a welcoming-city ordinance that failed to gain majority support in the previous council, Boelen said she does not because "immigration is a federal issue."

Contact Maria Nagle at (309) 820-3244. Follow her on Twitter: @Pg_Nagle


Bloomington Reporter

Bloomington reporter for The Pantagraph.

Load comments