Try 1 month for $5

BLOOMINGTON — McLean County elected officials face an unusually tough road in next year's elections.

Two years after 11 of 14 county elected officials on the ballot were re-elected without challengers, 11 of 13 have opposition in 2018 after nominating petition filings finished Monday.

The races include:

• Incumbent Republican Clerk Kathy Michael versus Democrat Nikita Richards.

• Incumbent Republican Treasurer Rebecca McNeil versus Libertarian Lex Green.

• Republican Jeremiah Houston versus Republican Gerald Thompson for a District 1 County Board seat being vacated by Republican Don Cavallini.

• Incumbent Republican District 2 County Board member Jim Soeldner versus Republican J Snyder, Democrat Dave Siebert and Libertarian Paul Michael Enerson.

• Incumbent Republican District 3 County Board member Randall Martin versus Libertarian Chris Howick.

• Incumbent Republican District 4 County Board member Mark Johnson versus Democrat Logan Smith and Libertarian Alexandra Eagle.

• Incumbent Republican District 5 County Board member David Selzer versus Democrat Elizabeth Johnston.

• Incumbent Republican District 7 County Board member Ryan Scritchlow versus Democrat Sharon Chung and Libertarian Bennett Morris.

• Incumbent Democratic District 8 County Board member Paul Segobiano versus Democrat Shayna Watchinski and Libertarian Steve Suess.

• Republican Jeremy Bradley, Democrat David Parker and Libertarian Richard Bennett facing off for a District 9 County Board seat being vacated by Erik Rankin.

• Incumbent Republican District 10 County Board member Chuck Erickson versus Libertarian Kevin Woodard.

Republican Sheriff Jon Sandage and Democratic District 6 County Board member Laurie Wollrab are unopposed.

Races with only one candidate per party will go to the Nov. 6 general election. Races with multiple candidates from the same party will be narrowed in the March 20 primary.

Eight Libertarians filed, compared to none during the same period in 2016, because the party is no longer limited by a rule that requires candidates who are independent or from political parties that are not established to file the following June.

"The Libertarian Party received recognition as an established political party in McLean County last November when, through the hard work of local volunteers, presidential candidate Gary Johnson finished above the 5 percent popular vote threshold in the county," Morris, the local chairman, said in a statement. "Voters will be able to pull a Libertarian ballot in the (primary) for the first time ever."

Nominating petitions can be challenged through Dec. 11; write-in candidates can file through Jan. 18; and established parties can still choose, or "slate," candidates for races where they don't have a candidate.

State and federal races appearing on the McLean County ballot include:

• Republican state Rep. Dan Brady of Bloomington versus Republican David Blumenshine of Normal and Democrat Ben Webb of Normal.

• Incumbent Republican state Rep. Keith Sommer of Morton versus Democrat Jill Blair of Bloomington.

• Republicans Todd Henricks of Cerro Gordo, Dan Caulkins of Decatur and Randy Keith of Monticello competing in the primary to face Democrat Jennifer McMillin of Decatur for a state representative seat vacated by Bill Mitchell, R-Forsyth.

• Democrats Erik Jones of Edwardsville, Betsy Londrigan of Springfield, Jon Ebel of Urbana, David Gill of Bloomington and Angel Sides of Springfield competing to face incumbent Republican U.S. Rep. Rodney Davis of Taylorville.

• Incumbent Republican U.S. Rep. Darin LaHood of Dunlap facing Republican Donald Rients of Benson in the primary. In the Democratic primary for that seat are Brian Deters of Morton, Junius Rodriguez of Eureka and Darrel Miller of Danvers.

State Sens. Jason Barickman and Bill Brady, both R-Bloomington, are currently unopposed.

Follow Derek Beigh on Twitter: @pg_beigh



Normal and McLean County Reporter

Load comments