God has three kinds of laws in the Bible

God has three kinds of laws in the Bible

  • 27

I am responding to a letter that Mike Smith wrote. He notes several scriptures, and is not putting them in their proper context. One must understand that there are three kinds of laws God deals with in His Bible.

First, are civil laws. These were specifically given for the culture of the Israelites, which includes everything from murder to restitution and dietary restrictions.

Second, are ceremonial laws. This literally stands for the customs of a nation. These would have included sacrifices of perfectly good animals, and rejection of food sources such as pork and rabbits. These laws were specific only toward the Jews.

Third, are God’s moral laws. These relate to justice and judgment. They are based on God’s own holy nature. As such, these ordinates are holy, just and unchanging.

Moral laws encompass regulations on justice, respect and sexual conduct. All people will be held accountable to these laws.

1 Corinthians 6:9-11 (which is in the New Testament, dealing with God’s moral law) says that the unrighteous should not inherit the kingdom of God. This includes: fornicators, idolators, adulterers, effeminates, homosexuals, thieves, covetors, drunkards, revealers or extortioners. But, the good news is in verse 11. You can be sanctified and justified.

Just because someone believes in the Bible, that does not make them haters, homophobics or heretics. It just makes them a person who believes God’s word.

John Cotton



Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News