Subscribe for 33¢ / day
ISU vs. South Dakota

Illinois State senior lineman Dalton Keene (98) pressures South Dakota quarterback Chris Streveler during the Redbirds' 37-21 victory over the Coyotes on Saturday, Oct. 21, 2017 at Hancock Stadium.

ST. LOUIS — South Dakota quarterback Chris Streveler has been named Offensive Player of the Year and Western Illinois linebacker Brett Taylor earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, the Missouri Valley Football Conference announced Wednesday.

League champion North Dakota State accounted for the other three specialty awards in voting of the league's media, head coaches and sports information directors.

The Bison's Chris Klieman was selected as the Bruce Craddock Coach of the Year, while linebacker Jabril Cox became the third player in conference history to sweep the Freshman of the Year and Newcomer of the Year awards.

Streveler, a senior from Crystal Lake, has led South Dakota to a 7-4 record and the program's first FCS playoff appearance. A transfer from Minnesota last year, Streveler leads the nation in total offense at 385 yards per game, ranks third in total touchdowns with 33, and is the nation's eighth-leading passer at 322 yards per game.

He has broken USD records for pass attempts (390), completions (258) and yards (3,236), and is 379 yards shy of the Valley's single-season record for total offense with 3,871.

Taylor leads the nation in tackles (150), tackles per game (13.6) and assisted stops (90). He has 13.0 tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, four breakups, two forced fumbles and one quarterback hurry.

Klieman has a 50-6 record at NDSU and has guided the Bison to their seventh straight MVFC championship. Cox leads NDSU with 52 tackles and 9.0 tackles for loss and has 4.0 sacks, one interception, two breakups, three QB hurries, one forced fumble and one recovery.

The full All-Missouri Valley Football Conference team will be announced Monday.


Load comments