Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
IWU's Sikma tabbed for small college Hall of Fame

IWU's Sikma tabbed for small college Hall of Fame

  • 0

Illinois Wesleyan graduate Jack Sikma has been selected among the 12 inductees for this year's Small College Basketball Hall of Fame class.

A 1977 IWU graduate and seven-time NBA All-Star, Sikma remains the Titans' career leader in scoring (2,272 points) and rebounding (1,405).

“I am honored and excited to be inducted into the Small College Basketball Hall of Fame,” Sikma said in a news release. “Being recognized as part of the rich history along with my fellow inductees and members is a proud moment for me personally.

"I want to especially thank coach Dennie Bridges, along with my teammates and the whole IWU family, for providing me with the opportunity to thrive and achieve my goals as a both student and an athlete."

A three-time NAIA All-American, Sikma led the Titans to an 83-32 record over his four seasons. In each of his final three seasons, IWU won College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin titles and advanced to the NAIA tournament in Kansas City.

He won three straight CCIW most outstanding player awards and was the top vote-getter as an Associated Press College Division All-American after averaging 27.0 points and 15.4 rebounds as a senior.

Drafted by Seattle with the No. 8 pick in the 1977 NBA Draft, Sikma totaled 17,287 points and 10,816 rebounds in a 14-year career with the SuperSonics and Milwaukee Bucks.

He is the only center in NBA history to lead the league in free-throw percentage for a season (92.2 with Milwaukee in ’87-88) and he remains the Seattle/Oklahoma City franchise's career leader in rebounds (7,729) while ranking third in free throws (3,044) behind Kevin Durant and Russell Westbrook.

He has worked as an assistant coach for Seattle, Houston and Minnesota and currently serves as a coaching consultant for the Toronto Raptors. He was inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame, named to the NAIA's 50th and 75th All-Anniversary Teams and had his uniform number retired by IWU and the Sonics.

Other members of the Small College Hall's second induction class include Walt Frazier (Southern Illinois), Bob Love (Southern University), Zelmo Beaty (Prairie View), Elmore Smith (Kentucky State), Jim Spivey (Southeastern Oklahoma State), Rico Swanson (Bethel, Ind.), George Tinsley (Kentucky Wesleyan) and Al Tucker (Oklahoma Baptist), along with coaches Dave Robbins (Virginia Union) and Don Meyer (three schools) and NAIA founder Emil Liston.

The induction ceremony will be held Nov. 2 in Evansville, Ind.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News