For the first time in 35 years, the Illinois State women's track and field team has won back-to-back Missouri Valley Conference Outdoor championships as the Redbirds claimed the 2019 crown Sunday at Terre Haute, Ind.

ISU scored 191 points to edge Southern Illinois (176) for the title. Indiana State (132.5) finished third.

ISU's Hattie Plumb crossed the finish line in 2 minutes, 8.38 seconds to win her second career MVC title in the 800-meter run. She was joined by Tori Ortiz, Destiny White and Ashleigh Wilson in winning the 1,600-meter relay in a season-best time of 3:44.22.

Redbirds Demetria Anderson and Jordyn Bruce swept the hurdling events. Anderson became a back-to-back champion in the 100-meter hurdles after clocking in at 13.74. Bruce won the 400 hurdles in 1:00.67.

Ariana Cranston captured her third consecutive Valley pole vault title, clearing 12-03½.

Illinois State coach Jeff Bovee was named MVC Women's Coach of the Year.

ISU men second: Illinois State's Jack Anstey won the 800-meter run with a time of 1:49.82 to help ISU's men's team to a second-place finish in the Missouri Valley Conference outdoor meet.

Northern Iowa won with a score of 183.25. The Redbirds finished with 131.25 to barely edge host Indiana State (129.25) and Southern Illinois (125.5) for second.


Lacrosse advances in NCAA: A trip to the NCAA Division III Regional semifinals in Middlebury, Vt., is next for the IWU women's lacrosse team after the Titans scored a 14-4 second-round win over Hamline at Tucci Stadium.

Dani Engelbreit and Riley Rooney each had four goals for IWU. Engelbreit also contributed two assists as the Titans improved to 18-2.

IWU outshot Hamline 25-18 overall and 19-15 in shots on goal.

The Titans led 8-4 at halftime before shutting down Hamline, of St. Paul, Minn., in the second period.

IWU goalie Janaye Godfrey was credited with five saves.

The Titans will play No. 5-nationally ranked Franklin and Marshall (16-4) at 1:30 p.m. Saturday in a regional semifinal. Bowdoin (10-7) faces Middlebury (18-1), the No. 3-ranked host school, in the other semifinal. The winners will square off on Sunday at noon.


Load comments