Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Conference to honor 14 for dedication, service

Conference to honor 14 for dedication, service

  • 0

EL PASO - Fourteen people who have been instrumental through the years with the success of the Midstate Conference will be honored Friday night before the championship game of the league's final tournament at El Paso-Gridley High School.

The Midstate Conference, which was founded in 1949, will merge with teams from the Sangamon Valley Conference next season to form the Heart of Illinois Conference.

The guests of honor include Tom Wagner and Bob Hageman of El Paso; Jack Finlen of Minonk-Dana-Rutland; Lorin Stevens of Fieldcrest; Mike Hawkins of Lexington; Randy Vincent and Rob Houchin of Deer Creek-Mackinaw; Ken Kennedy and Jerry Sax of Gridley; Jeff Hinman and Jim Workman of Tremont; Jeff Asmus and Charlie Lockenour of Heyworth; and Duane Hitchens of Tri-Point.

"These gentlemen have contributed to the success, integrity and proud tradition of a great conference," said Jerry Farris of Flanagan, the executive director of the Midstate Conference. "They provided their time, energy and service during their tenures.

"Their dedication and commitment to the students, who have had the opportunity to participate in a conference activity, is like that of no other. They built this conference as a family."


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News