Try 1 month for $5

University High's Nate Torres goes up for a shot over Zion-Benton defender Kayleb Naylor (12) during the Pioneers' 54-52 victory over the Zee-Bees in their State Farm Holiday Classic first-round game Dec. 26 at Normal West. Torres received honorable mention on the Associated Press Class 3A all-state team released Thursday.

Five Pantagraph area players received honorable mention on the Associated Press Class 3A and Class 4A all-state boys basketball teams released Thursday.

In Class 3A, University High School senior forward Nate Torres, who led the Pioneers to the Elite Eight, earned honorable mention along with Lincoln teammates Kaden Froebe, a junior guard, and Jermaine Hamlin, a senior forward.

In 4A, Normal Community senior forward CJ Wilbourn was an honorable mention selection by a statewide media panel after leading NCHS to a 25-4 record and the Big 12 Conference co-championship. Joining the Wisconsin-Milwaukee recruit on the honorable mention list was Bloomington senior guard Caleb Donaldson.

The 3A first team included senior forward Terrance Hargrove of East St. Louis, Chicago Morgan Park junior guard Adam Miller, senior center Rashaun Agee of Chicago Bogan, senior guard Perry Cowan of DePaul College Prep and senior guard Terrion Murdix of Springfield Southeast. Hargrove, Agee and Cowan will play in this weekend's 3A state tournament at Peoria.

The 4A first unit was led by reigning Illinois Mr. Basketball EJ Liddell, a senior forward from Belleville West headed to Ohio State.

Joining him on the first team were Chicago Curie senior forward DaJuan Gordon, junior guard D.J. Steward of Chicago Whitney Young, senior guard Deonte Billups of Moline and sophomore guard Max Christie of Rolling Meadows. Liddell and Gordon will square off in a 4A state semifinal Friday night.


Sports Editor

Sports editor for Lee Enterprises Central Illinois.

Load comments