Prep sports graphic

PEORIA — Chicago Orr made history while denying a history making achievement to Nashville on Saturday at the Class 2A State Tournament.

No. 2-ranked Orr claimed its third straight 2A crown in a 50-36 title game victory over No. 1 Nashville at Carver Arena.

Hornets coach Wayne Harre was attempting to become the first basketball coach in state history to win a state championship in both boys and girls competition.

The Spartans improved to 25-11 behind the 19 points of Sherif Kenney. Tujantae Williams chipped in 10 points and eight rebounds.

Nashville (35-3) was led by 16 points and 11 rebounds from Carson Parker. Bryson Bultman added 12 points.

Class 1A

Providence St. Mel 52, Cissna Park 29: Top-ranked St Mel led 29-13 at halftime en route to the championship game win.

The Knights (30-6) received 15 points from Tyriel Nelson and 13 from Deion Jackson.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

"Great, great win for these guys. I'm so happy for my players," St. Mel coach Tim Ervin said. "We got to do what we wanted to do on offense, which was push the ball and attack the basket and get some easy buckets in transition."

Christian Stadeli paced fifth-ranked Cissna Park (32-5) with 11 points.

"What a ride, what a journey," said Timberwolves coach Kevin Long of his final game. "We're a team in the truest sense of the word. I'm retiring, going out with these guys. They set great examples for our younger guys."

Central A&M 70, Concord Triopia 39: Jacob Paradee's 24 points sparked the No. 3-ranked Raiders to an easy win in the third place game.

All-Stater Connor Heaton contributed 19 points and 13 rebounds for Central A&M (33-4). Garrett Snow led unranked Triopia (33-5) with 11 points.

Area trio first team all-state: Central Catholic’s Luke Yoder and GCMS’ Ryland Holt and Bryce Barnes have been selected to the first team of the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Class 2A all-state team.

On the second unit was Deer Creek-Mackinaw’s Levi Scheuermann. Third team members included Tommy Nelson of Central Catholic, Eureka’s Keegan Zimmerman and Jack Weber of El Paso-Gridley.

In Class 1A, LeRoy’s Nick Perry was voted to the second team with Flanagan-Cornell’s Jeremy Durdan and Roanoke-Benson’s Jake Weber on the third squad.

Sign up to get our weekly Prep Sports newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Contact Randy Reinhardt at (309) 820-3403. Follow him on Twitter: @Pg_Reinhardt


Load comments