Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Normal Community High School's Guy Gudeman, right, wrestling in the 152-pound class, is pinned by Champaign Central's Aaron Banks in the Big 12 Conference Wrestling Tournament on Saturday at Bloomington High School.

BLOOMINGTON — The host Bloomington High School wrestling team won its eighth consecutive Big 12 Conference title and 21st in 23 years on Saturday.

Sparked by four champions, four runners-up and one third-placer, the Purple Raiders scored 265.5 points. Champaign Centennial was second with 214.

Normal Community took sixth (130) and Normal West seventh (120) in the 11-team tournament.

Winning for BHS were Jack Henderson (120), Savion Haywood (126), Shawn Safford (170) and Tyran Jolly (182). Henderson notched one pin, one technical fall and one major decision en route to sharing the tournament's outstanding wrestler award with Peoria Notre Dame heavyweight Dom Tudor.

BHS runners-up were Stevie Lee (106), Julian Montenegro (113), Noah Nobling (132) and Adetunji Jones (145). John Ridgeway took third at heavyweight.

NCHS runners-up were Grant Aaberg (120) and Elon Harper (126). Placing third for the Ironmen were Ethan Mitchell (132), Tyler Tribble (138) and Wyatt Hardesty (182).

Leading Normal West were third-placers Ryan Ashenbremer (126) and Joey Neuhouser (195).



Reporter for Lee Enterprises Central Illinois.

Load comments