Try 1 month for 99¢

Pantagraph staff

Ten wrestlers placed in the top four to lead the LeRoy High School wrestling to the Notre Dame Invitational title Saturday at Peoria.

The Panthers edged Illini Bluffs 114-111 for the crown. Tremont was third with 100 points while Eureka finished sixth with 76.

Both Eureka and Tremont had three individual champions. Winning titles for the Turks were Thomas Driggers (135), Dustin Kilgus (145) and Josiah Imig (152). Champions for the Hornets were Jeff Pruitt (119), Chris Wakid (171) and Luke McLaughlin (275).

Olympia 12th at Bethalto

Olympia placed 12th in the 16-team Civic Memorial Tournament. Mario Martinez paced the Spartans with a second-place finish at 140.

Other Olympia placers were Drake Fairfield (4th at 160), David Ridgeway (5th at 275), Casey Miller (6th at 215), Eric Kaufman (7th at 140), James Moser (9th at 189) and Brent Keith (8th at 130).

Streator 6th at Seneca

Streator scored 109 points to place sixth in the 15-team Seneca Invitational where Marmion won with 267. Dwight's junior varsity placed 13th with 44 points.

Streator was led by third-placers Nick Medema (119) and Rodrigo Ruiz (215).

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments