Try 1 month for 99¢

Pantagraph-area high schools will be represented by nine men in the Class A state wrestling tournament Friday and Saturday at Champaign.

Eight qualified from the Olympia Sectional at Stanford, led by Clinton High School with four. LeRoy advanced two; Eureka and Olympia had one each.

Clinton's three champions included No. 4-state ranked Matt Cooper (26-3 at 275), Cody Moody (34-7 at 135) and Heath Pool (32-7 at 140).

In the finals, Cooper topped Sherrard's William Wyant, 14-4, while Moody dispatched Orion's Mitch Musgrove, 9-5, and Pool pinned St. Joseph-Ogden's Brodyee Hallowell in 5:43.

Clinton's Chris Miller (36-12 at 160) earned a second state trip by placing third with a 5-3 victory over Bismarck-Henning's Damen Hillery.

No. 4-state ranked Gavin Dunlop (36-1 at 160) of LeRoy won his final over St. Joseph-Ogden's No. 7-ranked Billy Gallo by fall in 2:37.

LeRoy's other qualifier was runner-up Brian Umstattd (30-6 at 130), who was pinned in the final by Monticello's Kyle Dooley in 3:16.

Eureka's No. 7-ranked Chris Wakid (35-3 at 171) lost in the final to No. 2 Chet Cox of Orion, 9-0.

Olympia's No. 2-ranked Mario Martinez (38-9 at 135) qualified third for the fourth consecutive year. He topped Midwest Central's Blake Meyer in the third-place match, 4-0.

At Plano

Dwight's lone state qualifier from the Plano Class A Sectional was 189-pound third-placer Pat Riccolo (34-5). He posted a 17-7 major decision over Reed Custer's Matt Zeiger in the third-place match.

Compiled by Randy Sharer

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments